Terça, 28 Mar 2017

Presentation of FMV

Enviar por E-mail Versão para impressão PDF

The Faculty of Veterinary Medicine was the first institution to prepare veterinarians in Portugal. It was created by the King D. Manuel in 1830 with the decree issued in the "Gazeta de Lisboa" issued on the 7th April. Its first name was "Real Escola de Veterinária" - Royal School of Veterinary.
The veterinary school was fused with the agronomic studies from 1852 to 1910, when it was established as the School of Veterinary Medicine.
In 1918 the school was integrated in the university teaching model and named "Escola Superior de Medicina Veterinária" - High School of Veterinary Medicine. In 1930 along with four more schools, ESMV founds the Technical University of Lisbon - "Universidade Técnica de Lisboa".
Finally in the 1st of August 1989 the school adopts its present name "Faculdade de Medicina Veterinária (FMV)" - Faculty of Veterinary Medicine.

Mission and objectives
The mission of FMV, according with their Statutory Decree (6 February 2003) is to "work for the quality and development of the Country in the area of Animal Sciences, in particular in the area of Veterinary Sciences". This document states the objectives of FMV as:
. to give university graduate teaching;
. to contribute for the scientific progress and technological development;
. to serve the community with quality;
. to make available life long learning activities;
. to attribute academic degrees and honorific titles;
. to cooperate with other national and international institutions in scientific, technical and cultural matters; and
. to consolidate the social and cultural growth of its members.
The teaching and non-teaching staff and the students of FMV are deeply enrolled in the achievement of these objectives.


Teaching staff – 65 (60 with a PhD degree)
Other staff – 116 (33 with university degrees)


Management bodies


1. School Board (CE)
The EB is the representative body of lecturers, researchers, workers and students of FMV, which decides on the main strategies and control the accomplishment of the mission of FMV and the legal norms. It has 15 members: 9 representatives of lecturers and researchers, 1 representative of workers, 2 students and 3 personalities from the society. The present President of the CE is Prof. Doctor Maria da Conceição Peleteiro


2. President of FMV

The President of FMV is an executive body that represents internally and externally the institution. The Presidents is supported in its role by the Coordination Council, in a consultative manner. This Council includes the 2 Vice-Presidents, the 4  presidents of Departments, of the Scientific Council and the Pedagogic.

President - Prof. Doctor Luis Manuel Morgado Tavares
Vice-Presidents - Prof. Doctor Ana Cristina Lobo Vilela, Prof. Doctor Yolanda Vaz

3. Scientific Council (CC)
The CC is responsible for the scientific policy of FMV, the selection of teaching staff and the definition of the general lines of national and international cooperation. It collaborates with the Pedagogic Council in the establishment of the curricular plan. The CC is constituted by 12 lecturers with a PhD degree and working full time at FMVand 3 representatives of the research units.
President - Prof. Doctor Rui Manuel Horta Caldeira
Vice-President - Prof. Doctor José Paulo Sales Luis


4. Pedagogic Council (CP)
The CP woks for the good functioning of the courses by orienting the teaching methods and activities. It is composed by 2 professors and 1 students. The CP approves and inform about the all norms such as the annual timetable, discipline programs, evaluation methods and programming of exams. The CP elaborates the curricular plan is in collaboration with the CC. The CP also nominated the teacher coordinating the Library and Documentation Complex.
President - Prof. Doctor Virgílio da Silva Almeida
Vice-Presidents - Prof. Doctor Marília Catarina Leal Ferreira


5. The Administrative Council is constituted by the President of FMV and the Vice-Presidents, the Secretary of FMV and the Head of the Financial Services. Its role, according with the law for the estate institutions with financial and administrative autonomy is the financial management of FMV.

6. The Consultative Council is the body of connection of FMV to the external entities employing veterinarians and using FMV services of diagnosis, consultancy, research and extension. It is composed by the University Consultants proposed by FMV, the Presidents of the management and operative (Departments) bodies, the president of the Students Association and by representatives of public institutions and other related with the professional activity of the Veterinarians.


Operative Units
The Departments are the operative units of FMV, corresponding to vocational areas of teaching and research. They are autonomous in term of internal organization and development of teaching, research and services activities, including consultancy to public and private entities.

FMV has 4 Departments (Diário da República-II Série, 18 August 2003).


Department of Morphology and Function (DMF)
President: Prof. Doctor Graça Maria Ferreira Dias

Department of Animal Health (DSA)
President: Prof. Doctor Carlos Martins

Department of Clinics (DC)
President: Prof. Doctor Luis Lopes da Costa

Department of Animal Production and Food Safety (DPASA)
President: Prof. Doctor António Barreto